Date of Award


Document Type

Open Access Dissertation


School of Music

First Advisor

Scott Weiss


Joseph Schwantner’s Trilogy for Wind Ensemble consisting of and the mountains rising nowhere (1977), From a Dark Millennium (1981), and In evening’s stillness… (1996) presents a unique problem. While it is clear that the composer’s intent is that the works be considered smaller parts of a whole, there are several complications to negotiate in order to both perform and appreciate the works as a trilogy. This document is a study of the characteristics that bind these pieces despite their seemingly disparate qualities, including such major components as programmatic inspiration, instrumental requirements, compositional traits, and pitch and rhythmic material. Additionally, it provides a logistical blueprint for performing the trilogy including performance order, seating arrangements, and percussion equipment management with the desired result being more performances of the trilogy as the composer intends.


© 2015, James Willson Taylor II

Included in

Music Commons