Taekuk Hong

Date of Award

Fall 2023

Document Type

Open Access Thesis


Physics and Astronomy

First Advisor

Scott Crittenden


Before the memristor was discovered, there were RLC circuits as representative passive devices. However, the fourth fundamental two-terminal circuit has been discovered by Dr. Leon Chua in 1971 and has been called a memristor. The memristor is a compound word of memory and resistor, and is an element whose resistive value is not constant and whose resistive value changes depending on the applied voltage and is recorded as a memory. It is mainly used in resistive switching and is the center of this research theme. A metamaterial is artificially created material that has never been found in nature. The theory of metamaterial was proposed by Dr. Victor Veselago in 1969, and he discovered negative refractive index, one of the characteristics of metamaterial. Unlike refractive index, negative index is a property that cannot be naturally found in general materials. Furthermore, the metamaterial, compared to ordinary matter, is determined not by the inherent features of material, but by their unique geometric structure. A representative structure is a small wire and the other is a split-ring resonator. In order to induce a negative refractive index, electrical permittivity and magnetic permeability must satisfy as negative value at the same time, and light with a specific frequency that can make a negative value is transmitted through the metamaterial, causing the light to move in the direction of negative refraction. In this study, a circuit with a split ring structure is connected to a memristor to control the current inside the circuit to induce a magnetic field. The magnetic response created by the circuit caused the material to have a negative permeability, and the permeability is a factor that helps to make a negative refractive index. We will also connect a memristor to the circuit to observe whether the memristor possesses memory property that allows it to play a switching role.


© 2024, Taekuk Hong

Included in

Physics Commons