Date of Award


Document Type

Open Access Dissertation


School of Music


Music Performance

First Advisor

Joseph Rackers


This study concerns the development of contemporary music by three generations of Korean composers, including Isang Yun, Young Jo Lee, and U Zong Choe, focusing on stylistic analyses of selected piano works by each composer: Fünf Stücke für Klavier by Isang Yun, Korean Dance Suite by Young Jo Lee, and 12 Preludes pour piano by U Zong Choe. The study provides an overview of the history of Western contemporary music in Korea and biographical information of each composer. It also describes and analyzes the style influences and characteristics of these composers‟ output. The analyses include examinations of Western techniques and traditional Korean elements in each composer‟s selected piano works.