Document Type


Publication Date

Fall 2021



Henry Fulmer Retires as Director of the South Caroliniana Library ... p.1

Highlights and Tributes ... p.3

John M. Bryan's Creating the South Caroliniana Library ... p.8

South Carolina Postcard Collection: Beaufort County ... p.12

Tim Galsworthy: Ellison Durant Smith Research Award ... p.23

Arthur Braswell: Governor Thomas Gordon McLeod & First Lady Elizabeth Alford McLeod Research Fellowship ... p. 27

David Kiser: Lanny and Sidney Palmer Endowment Fund at the South Caroliniana Library ... p.29

Letter from the Dean of Libraries ... p.34

Report from the Retiring Director ... p.36

Letter from the President ... p.38

Memorials & Honoraria ... p.39

Are You a Member? ... p.40


Caroliniana Columns is published semiannually for members and friends of the University South Caroliniana Society.

Executive Committee, 2021-2022:

Ms. Beryl M. Dakers, President

Ms. Lynn Robertson, Vice-President

Dr. Bobby J. Donaldson, Vice-President

Mr. Henry G. Fulmer, Secretary-treasurer


Nancy H. Washington

Editorial and Technical Assistant

Todd Hoppock

Graphic Designer

Sherry Simmons