Document Type


Publication Date

Fall 2009



University Libraries Receive Major Digitization Grant.....p. 1
Renaissance Astronomy Books Given to University.....p. 1
From the Dean of Libraries.....p. 2
University’s Federal Depository Program Recognized for 125 Years of Service.....p. 3
Libraries’ Undergraduate Research Award Winners Announced.....p. 4
In Memoriam: Robert F. Skinder (1943–2009).....p. 4
Burns Scholar Dr. G. Ross Roy Receives Honors.....p. 5
Exhibits at the South Caroliniana Library.....p. 5
The Flynn T. Harrell Collection on the Separation of Church and State Endowment Fund Announced.....p. 6
Student Book Collecting Award Winner Named.....p. 6
Cooper Named Interim Director of Moving Image Research Collections.....p. 7
“Voices For Civil Rights: Modjeska Simkins, I. DeQuincey Newman, and the NAACP”.....p. 8
“‘The Similitude of a Dream’: John Bunyan’s Pilgrim’s Progress”.....p. 8
Exhibits from Rare Books and Special Collections.....p. 9
Assessment Team Wants YOUR Input.....p. 9
Libraries Receive Major Churchill Collection.....p. 11
“‘A Use in Measured Language’: An Exhibition for the Bicentenary of Alfred Tennyson”.....p. 12
University Receives Gift of Unique Milton Portraits.....p. 13
Donors Enable Creation of New Christina Rossetti Collection.....p. 14
News Briefs.....p. 15
Moving Image Research Collections Receives Chinese Film Collection.....p. 15
It’s All In the Cards: Celebrating and Commemorating the Libraries’ Card Catalog.....p. 16
Rare Books Collections Draw Visiting Researchers and Interns.....p. 17
The Charles Weasmer Collection of Secession Presbyterian Writings.....p. 18
Exhibits from South Carolina Political Collections.....p. 18
In Memoriam: Dr. Charles Brent Weasmer (1930–2009).....p. 18
Current and Upcoming Exhibits and Events.....p. 19
Ex Libris Society Hears Talk by Alex Sanders.....p. 19
The Ernest F. Hollings Special Collections Library—Construction Continues...back cover



Nancy W. Washington


Beth Bilderback
Marilee Birchfield
Kate Boyd
Mark Cooper
Robin Copp
Gerri Corson
Gary Geer
Herb Hartsook
Craig Keeney
Jeffrey Makala
Kate Moore
Jennifer Ottervik
Scott Phinney
Patrick Scott
Allen Stokes
Bill Sudduth
Elizabeth Sudduth
Elizabeth West
Greg Wilsbacher


Jason Ayer
Keith McGraw