Date of Award


Document Type

Open Access Thesis


School of Music


Music Performance

First Advisor

Charles Fugo


This document presents analyses of selected solo piano works of the composer-pianist Josef Hofmann. After an introduction on Hofmann in Chapter I with a brief explanation of his three periods of composition and summary of related literature, Chapter II presents biographical information. The analysis of three selected works, "Barcarolla," "Theme with Variations and Fugue" and "Trois Impressions" comprises Chapter III with examples from the score and tables presented in the text. These works were selected because they displayed varied aspects of Hofmann's compositional style and were representative of three periods of composition. Chapter IV summarizes the material and includes other works of Hofmann for further study.